Android 4.4 KitKat: which devices are eligible for upgrade?

Truth is that we get everyday info with new devices that are ready to be upgraded to Android 4.4 KitKat and some of them (like Samsung Galaxy Note 3 and Google Nexus 5 have been available by default with this version of Android. There are several more smartphones that are ready for this update so we gathered them here, just so you know if you are going to get the update!


 Nexus Family:

  • Nexus 5
  • Nexus 4
  • Nexus 7
  • Nexus 10


  • Samsung  Galaxy S4, S4 Google Play Edition (GPE), S4 Zoom, S4 Active
  • Samsung  Galaxy Mega
  • Samsung  Galaxy S4 Mini
  • Samsung Galaxy S3 (2GB RAM)
  • Samsung  Galaxy Tab 2
  • Samsung  Galaxy Tab 3
  • Samsung  Galaxy Note 3


  • LG G2
  • LG Optimus L3, L5, L7
  • LG Optimus G
  • LG Optimus G Pro
  • LG Optimus VU


  • HTC One + One Google Play Edition (GPE)
  • HTC One X
  • HTC One X+
  • HTC Butterfly (Droid DNA)
  • HTC J


  • Sony Xperia Z
  • Sony Xperia Z1
  • Sony Xperia Z Ultra
  • Sony Xperia ZL
  • Sony Xperia Tablet Z


  • Motorola Moto X
  • Motorola Moto G (when available)
  • Motorola Droid Mini (USA)
  • Motorola Droid Ultra (USA)
  • Motorola Droid Maxx (USA)


  • Huawei Ascend P6


Note that we don’t have official info on some of the aforementioned devices but solid rumors regarding their imminent update. There are a lot more devices that can be updated to Android 4.4 (hardware-wise) but Google decides which of these will finally receive it. Just so you know, Android 4.4 KitKat has minimum hardware requirements at least 512MB of RAM, ARMv7 or MIPS or x86 processors, OPENGL ES 2.0 compatibility and OpenGL ES 3.0 acceleration.

 13,470 total views,  2 views today

About NGP

NGP fell in love with technology the day he was born and his mommy dropped him by mistake. The only way to stay alive is to read, write and (occasionally) sing "droid"...
Bookmark the permalink.